All Reviewers
Home

The ShoreDiving Reviews of
 Brad Stan

Click the Average for the complete review!

 

Review Date       AVG       ShoreDiving Site
11/13/2014        4.62      Karpata Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. I had very high expectation for this dive and it more than delivered. One of my favorite dives. Yes, the entry looks intimidating, especially with very small waves surging in. But it really isn't that bad if you simply take you time, plan your entry AND exit, and then go slowly. I dove this site twice and for me, the easiest method was to (1) enter by walking to the end of the concrete platform, sit down with my feet in the water and hop off (2) exit by walking slowly along the left side of the platform, holding it with my right hand as I went. I dove both north and south and found the north side of this dive to be far superior. The structure is mind-blowing, with amazing long, sloping trenches. Saw several new species of fish, eels, and a turtle.
11/13/2014        4.80      English Garden Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. Do not let the lack of marking and user reviews deter you from doing this dive. It is a FANTASTIC dive and well worth the minor extra effort. One of my favorites. Susan Porter's book provide very clear directions and is well worth the buy in my opinion.
11/13/2014        3.51      Weber's Joy Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. Good dive but I didn't have much worthy to note in my dive log. The dive itself is very similar to 1000 steps, minus the walk! Again, there were other North dives that I much preferred (Karpata, Ol' Blue, Jeff Davis, Oil Slick).
11/13/2014        3.33      The Invisibles Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was just above average for me. The entry and surface swim are very easy. This is a double reef system but I definitely recommend staying at the shallower reef. There is much less life and activity at the deeper reef.
11/13/2014        5.00      Vista Blue Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was definitely one of my favorite dives on the entire trip! I was surprised how much better it was than 'Sweet Dreams' which it is right down the road. I encountered an enormous school of mackerel, in which I found my self engulfed in on more than one occasion. Provided for some amazing video footage. So much diversity in this dive. There was almost no current so I took advantage and dove both north and south directions along the ledge.
11/13/2014        3.45      Sweet Dreams Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. For me, this was a very solid dive but did not quite live up to the hype. I did not see any turtles or rays which perhaps is the reason for my lack of enthusiasm. The entry was very easy and the surface swim was short. There is no yellow float here so be careful to mark your spot before you descend. If you park close enough to the shore, your car will be visible and provide an easy mark.
11/13/2014        4.02      The Lake Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was one of the better 'double reef' dives although Angel City was my favorite by far. I did not have any problems with orientation as the two reefs are segregated. The outer reef is more active and enjoyable the inner.
11/13/2014        3.00      1000 Steps Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. The steps here really aren't that bad and make for some great photo opps. Not my favorite of the north dive sites but the coral structure and scenery were great. It is worth doing at least once.
11/13/2014        4.39      Salt Pier Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. Ditto to what Bill said below. I dove this site twice without a guide or permission. To be safe, I dove it on a Saturday and Sunday, when the Cargill operations seem to be closed. The aquatic life is outstanding here. I surface swam to the north most pier, descended, and weaved my way counter-clockwise around the entire structure. Many different specific of large fish and we say a turtle. The highlight for me was when my wife spotted a school of squid, passing slowly beside us.
11/13/2014        3.72      Ol' Blue Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was a good dive. I enjoyed it more than 1000 steps and Weber's Joy. I did found it to be much better in the shallows than at deeper depths, where there is less activity and scenery.
11/13/2014        3.95      Jeannie's Glory Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip to Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. I'm not sure why there aren't many reviews for Jeanie's but I really enjoyed this dive. I headed north and it just kept getting better and better. Had a funny Mexican standoff with a bar jack. He was definitely trying to show me he was the boss and then got spooked by a little tiny reef fish which I got a kick out of. I also saw two turtles in the shallows. Definitely worth a visit.
11/13/2014        3.33      Red Beryl Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was a solid dive although I do prefer the 'double reef' dives. The surface swim was not bad and it was very easy to align when returning.
11/13/2014        4.00      La Machaca Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. Great dive and a definite 'must-do' just like Buddy's. Saw several new species of fish here. There is so much aquatic life and activity here that I feel like you see something different each time. Saw a sharp-tailed eel slithering along the sand, looking for food. Also saw a massive Nassau grouper lying in some willow coral.
11/13/2014        3.43      Andrea II Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This started off as a mediocre dive but things got a bit better the more north we got. Ditto to Tom's post below; I also saw a very large sleeping turtle hugging coral in the shallows (28ft). Also saw the largest barracuda of the trip and several Bermuda Chubs (which was my first sighting).
11/13/2014        3.80      Red Slave Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. I wanted to enter closer to the radio tower (as I found that less frequently dived areas in Bonaire turn out to be the best) but the current seemed too rough so I entered right near the red huts. Once I descended, there was virtually no current (unlike at the surface) which gave me the option to head south which I did. There was some very large coral and diverse coral but not as much aquatic life as I hoped. I would opt for other dives, such as Vista Blue, Margate Bay, and Angel City.
11/13/2014        3.80      Oil Slick Leap Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was a very good dive with lots of aquatic life. Saw a turtle and large barracuda. The ladder access is very easy and convenient. Make sure to check under the ladder when you return. I'm lucky my wife caught this. There was a large school of glassy sweepers just sort of hanging out. They weren't spooked at all so I got some great close-up video footage. I will definitely return.
11/13/2014        4.87      Angel City Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was absolutely beautiful and definitely my favorite of the 'double reef' dives. The two reefs do intersect (unlike the Lake) so it can be a bit disorienting. Just make sure to surface before return to align yourself. The shallows at the outer reef are only 30-40ft deep and breathtaking, so I spent much of the dive there.
11/13/2014        4.65      Pink Beach Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. Super easy entry but the surface swim is a bit long. It is much better dive in the south direction ... it just keeps getting better and better the more south you get. I saw a large green moray eel in some fairly open and visible coral at 77ft. Also saw some small tuna feeding, which is an very neat sight because of their speed and acceleration. I would definitely do this dive multiple times instead of Tori's on a return trip.
11/13/2014        4.21      Jeff Davis Memorial Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This ended up being one of the better dives of the trip which was a nice surprise, especially given the lackluster reviews I had read. I saw a free swimming spotted eel and a turtle which let me follow him/her around for a bit. This one of my favorites of the north dives and definitely worth a return visit.
11/13/2014        3.67      Calabas Reef Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. I was pleasantly surprised with this dive and found it to be a bit of an enigma. The reef and plant life is definitely more sparse and less healthy than the reefs slightly to the north (Buddy's, La Machacha) but I encountered several new species of fish (spotted drum, interesting squirrelfish relative) and some beautiful sea anemone. We were not staying at Divi so I did not use their dock or facilities (probably should have asked), and just entered from the shore just up the road instead.
11/13/2014        4.55      Margate Bay Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. Awesome dive. Turned out to be one of my favorites of the entire trip. Super easy entry and short surface swim. Saw largest jack I have seen yet, spotted eels, a free-swimming green moray, and more spotted drum.
11/13/2014        3.25      Buddy's Reef Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. We stayed at Buddy Dive resort so we dove this reef several times. I would say it is just okay compared to other sites on the island. But it is very convenient and great for beginner divers (my wife). I definitely prefer diving this site north (i.e. head right) as opposed to south. South side is a bit more sparse in terms of reef conditions and aquatic life. This is also a very fun and easy night dive. My wife did her first every night dive her and to our pleasant surprised, we were joined by a large school of tarpon and saw several spotted eels.
11/13/2014        3.59      Tori's Reef Bonaire South, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was a good dive with a very easy entry, although I found Pink beach to be a much better dive.
11/13/2014        3.61      Bari Reef Bonaire North, ABC Islands
My first trip Bonaire. Amazing. Did shore dives at 23 different sites. This was a pretty good dive but I ended up getting lucky and saw a huge green moray eel with 3/4 of its body out from underneath the wreck. He was very easily spooked and so I was unable to get video before he retreated underneath. I came back a few days later but it was not there so I don't know it he is a resident or just a visitor. Also saw lots of interesting fish.
04/02/2014        3.86      Devil's Grotto Cayman Islands, Caribbean
Just got back from a trip to GC. Did 12 shore dives in total. I did this as a night dive and has a blast. I didn't do it during the day but from what I hear, night diving in the way to go with Devil's Grotto. I encountered some really interesting marine life: huge spiny lobster, king crab, sharks, octopus, etc. The entry and surface swim is very easy, even at night. The shop closes at 5:30pm and the parking lot is always empty after hours. So simply pull right in, throw on your gear and head to the ladder. It doesn't really start to get dark until around 7:30pm which is technically an hour or so after official sunset. Water was very warm (80 degrees). and I didn't even bother with a wetsuit. Also, if you dive after hours, you can rent a tank from anywhere (Diver's Supply, $10US). But if you dive during the day, you should rent directly from their shop.
04/02/2014        4.25      Smith's Cove Cayman Islands, Caribbean
Just got back from a trip to GC. Did 12 shore dives in total. I'll be honest ... this dive really surprised me! I wasn't expected much based on what I had read but it turned out to be one of my favorites of the trip. The beach access is incredibly easy and secluded. The surface swim was not too challenging and the reef life and activity was very enjoyable. I will definitely repeat this dive when I return.
04/02/2014        4.19      North Side Cayman Islands, Caribbean
Just got back from a trip to GC. Did 12 shore dives in total. I dove Anchor point as my second shore dive one morning. There is a very narrow dirt road that leads directly to an entrance point (right before Barefoot Beach) where you can park your car. From there is only a 25 yard walk. Booties are advisable but not absolutely necessary. I didn't wear them and was fine but my feet are fairly tough from years of running. There are a few entry points. I chose one off to the left since the leading entrance has some breakers hitting it. The entry and surface swim were definitely not the easiest so be careful. I personally felt that Babylon was a good bit easier (if you use the lesser known of the two entrances). That being said, the dive itself is nothing short of spectacular and one I will certainly not miss when I return. I encountered a new species of shark (tiger perhaps?) right along the wall that I hadn't seen on the west coast dives. It was exhilarating and beautiful all at the same time.
04/02/2014        4.85      Turtle  Reef Cayman Islands, Caribbean
Just got back from a trip to GC. Did 12 shore dives in total. I had high expectations for this dive based on reviews and it definitely did not disappoint. I dove both the north (Cracked Conch) and south side (DiveTech, LP) of the reef. My wife preferred the north side (we had a very fun interaction with a resident turtle) but for me, the south side was the best. Regardless, they were both spectacular and two of our favorites of the whole trip. We saw some very diverse marine life on the LightHouse Point dive, including: peacock flounder, lesser electric ray, and many species of fish that I had not seen on any other dive! NOTE: If the current is too strong, the diver sites will not allow shore diving so be sure to call ahead and double check.
04/02/2014        4.31      Babylon Cayman Islands, Caribbean
Just got back from a trip to GC. Did 12 shore dives in total. Babylon was amazing and well worth the drive (40min from 7 mi island). I left early in the morning before traffic (yes even GC has it too). I parked my car on a little dirt road before the primary that goes all the way to the shore line entrance. The surface swim was not that bad at all. There were small breakers but not much current. The marine life wasn't as spectacular as some sites on the western part of the island but the structure and scenery along the wall were AMAZING. When I go back, I will definitely do this dive again.
04/02/2014        3.12      Cemetery Reef Cayman Islands, Caribbean
Just got back from a trip to GC. Did 12 shore dives in total. In my opinion, Cemetery reef was not all that it was cracked up to be. There was some interesting marine life (turtle, reef fish, etc.) but there are other dives with just as easy entry and surface swims that are superior in my opinion. In fact, I did a shore dive a quarter mile south of this site on a whim and it turned out to be one of my favorite of the trip. Simply take the public beach access next to the Christopher Columbus Condos and swim straight out. The swim out is a bit far (maybe 200 yards), but there are a few great parallel reefs that lead directly to the wall where I encountered a shark and lots of other diverse marine life.


Home
  Search  About You  |  About Us  |  Contact ShoreDiving.com

 

Copyright 2000-2017 ShoreDiving.com, LLC. tm All rights reserved.
Please read and understand the
Disclaimer concerning information contained in this site.