All Reviewers
Home

The ShoreDiving Reviews of
 Jim Goodenough

Click the Average for the complete review!

 

Review Date       AVG       ShoreDiving Site
09/16/2001        4.38      Salt Pier Bonaire South, ABC Islands
An extremely fun site. Enter in the area to the right of the parking lot. Do not back roll as I did off the cement near the conveyer. As I did, the water receded, and I landed in the sand on my back. Lots of fish, corals, and beauty. A much better night dive than the Town Pier (Town Dump). Since I've dived here, I understand you should have permission. I recommended checking with your dive shop regarding permission to dive here.
09/16/2001        4.10      Hilma Hooker Bonaire South, ABC Islands
Have dived this site several time - from boats and from the shore. A very nice shore dive. Even laying directly on the bottom, I could not get my depth gage to register beyond 99 feet. After inspecting the prop, going through the swim-thru, seeing the garden eels, and watching the Tarpon and Barracuda, you do not have any time to explore the anchor that lays ahead and to the right of the bow. On one dive, I was so preoccupied with the sights and my camera that my pressure was down to 850 PSI the first time I looked. Take care.
09/16/2001        3.94      Miloli'i Bay The Big Island, Hawaiian Islands
A nice site. No crowds, but I get more and more concerned when I am at such a remote site in the event of any emergency. The pier is an each giant stride, and there is a ladder for your exit. Swan through a couple of archways that were to the right after the entry. Was impressed with some of the land highlights. Interesting water systems that catch the rainfall into storage tanks. Liked the sign declaring wild pigs were to be captured after 1998.
09/16/2001        3.91      Puako Village End The Big Island, Hawaiian Islands
Nice remote site without a lot of people. Had to swim out a ways to get even 30 feet deep. As I was descending to enter a lava tube, I noticed I almost wound up on top of a small eel. After that I was too shaken up to continue the dive.
09/16/2001        3.77      Mahukona The Big Island, Hawaiian Islands
Very easy entry. Nice parking and a warm shower. Locals were OK with us. Dive was shallow, but lots to see. Get Dick Dresie's book for a good description of this site.
09/10/2001        3.59      Mile Marker 4 The Big Island, Hawaiian Islands
I love this dive. The wall along the road is the perfect height to rest your tank when gearing up. The entry is tough since there are waves and slippery rocks. Love the lava tubes and turtles.
09/10/2001        3.59      Alua Beach The Big Island, Hawaiian Islands
I love this spot. The beach is totally uncrowded. The entry is via a small "lagoon" and even though you have to walk out from the parking area, I think this is one of the most relaxing shore entries around. Saw a big frog fish there. Won't disagree with the other reviewer, but the turtle pinnacle must be a heck of a kick to swim to in SCUBA gear!
09/10/2001        3.87      Place of Refuge The Big Island, Hawaiian Islands
I agree with all the other comments, but would add that there is a small archway if you swim straight out from the entry. Was once approached here by an official (with a star on his hat and a gun) who said I could not dive without a dive flag. Curiously he said snorkeling was OK, since the courts were not about to prosecute snorkelers. Go figure.
09/10/2001        3.82      Kealakekua Bay (Old Wharf) The Big Island, Hawaiian Islands
You can park your car right next to the giant stride entry. Exiting is a little tough. Remove your gear and climb ashore, then have your buddy hand up both sets of gear. Most of the dive is shallow. I think my bottom time here has been 70+ minutes because of the minimal depth. Once saw anemones spawning in the shallows.
09/10/2001        3.78      Ke'ei The Big Island, Hawaiian Islands
A beautiful and remote site with no other people around. Makes dealing with emergencies something to think about. I have not seen the boat launch mentioned in another review, but the lava tubes and garden eels were nice.


Home
  Search  About You  |  About Us  |  Contact ShoreDiving.com

 

Copyright 2000-2017 ShoreDiving.com, LLC. tm All rights reserved.
Please read and understand the
Disclaimer concerning information contained in this site.