All Reviewers
Home

The ShoreDiving Reviews of
 Lou

Click the Average for the complete review!

 

Review Date       AVG       ShoreDiving Site
03/21/2006        3.57      Marine Room California South, USA West
Nice site but visited on a very bad day weather-wise. Was divable but barely. Would like to visit on calmer day. Lots of lobsters, kelp bass, guitarfish and numerous other fish seen. Even an octopus made an appearance. Parking not a problem midweek.
08/14/2005        1.90      Sag Harbor Jetty New York, USA East
Even though this is a shoredive, I used an inflatable dingy for this site. Poor visibility and few creatures seen. Current was somewhat strong; guess I should have dived at slack tide. Perhaps on a better day I would have better feedback. Would be an interesting night dive but access from shore seems difficult at best. Perhaps off season.
07/22/2005        3.18      Mattituck Jetties New York, USA East
The two times I dived this jetty it was early spring and late fall. Fairly shallow all over. I am not sure if non residents can park there otherwise. Easy L.I. Sound dive. Nothing special. Early spring dive was too soon for much life to be seen. Visibility was fantastic. Fall had usual fish and creatures around jetties. Stay out of inlet and carry a dive flag especially in warmer months.
07/21/2005        3.21      Manhattan Beach New York, USA East
Excellent reef approx. 100 yards offshore. Must navigate underwater due to heavy boat traffic. Also, must dive high slack. You are near a powerful inlet. The sea life is outstanding. Large numbers of blackfish and other reef fish that are drawn to mountains of mussels. Huge eels and some lobsters. Not for beginners or the faint of heart.
07/21/2005        3.47      Shinnecock Jetty New York, USA East
Excellent numbers of fish. Great place to find lost tackle since many fishermen are at jetty. Current can be tough at the point, so dive high slack only. Many blackfish, occasional fluke and striper, and large schools of triggerfish. I found snorkeling enjoyable on a very calm day. Parking plentiful.
07/21/2005        3.56      Bayville Barge New York, USA East
Nice dive and easy to navigate to wreck. Large blackfish present and small lobsters. It is a residential area. Homes on one side and restaurant on other. I usually dive before the restaurant opens or after it's closed. I have never had problems parking. Easy shallow dive. Visibility varies.
07/21/2005        3.15      Shoreham Jetty New York, USA East
I have been to this site several times. Night dives are more rewarding for lobstering (need permit). Daytime there are many small fish and occasionally a large blackfish or striper. Easy dive but a 1/4 mile walk after crossing a small river. Parking is for Riverhead residents only. I have someone wait or come back to pick us up. You need to be in good shape for the walk, especially after the dive.
07/17/2005        4.77      Ponquogue Bridge New York, USA East
Excellent dive. Dive high slack. Parking by permit or dive north side without permit. Many blackfish, seabass and occ. striper. Late August and September has many tropicals in area and can be collected. I have seen many small groupers, butterfly fish, one purple tang and a couple of angelfish. Remember HIGH SLACK for visibility and safety.
07/16/2005        3.56      Cedar Beach Jetty New York, USA East
Nice leisure dive. Lots of blackfish and some large fluke to spear. A lot of boat traffic. I usually kayak to western jetty and dive there. East jetty has a fishing pier. I have found many interesting items snorkeling under the pier (probably illegal). Spear fishing can be good and access is excellent. Free for Brookhaven residents, and a very relaxing dive.


Home
  Search  About You  |  About Us  |  Contact ShoreDiving.com

 

Copyright 2000-2017 ShoreDiving.com, LLC. tm All rights reserved.
Please read and understand the
Disclaimer concerning information contained in this site.